Deprecated: Function set_magic_quotes_runtime() is deprecated in /home/allegra/public_html/georgeusher/textpattern/lib/txplib_db.php on line 14

Warning: Cannot modify header information - headers already sent by (output started at /home/allegra/public_html/georgeusher/textpattern/lib/txplib_db.php:14) in /home/allegra/public_html/georgeusher/textpattern/lib/txplib_misc.php on line 1720

Warning: Cannot modify header information - headers already sent by (output started at /home/allegra/public_html/georgeusher/textpattern/lib/txplib_db.php:14) in /home/allegra/public_html/georgeusher/textpattern/publish.php on line 507
george usher | george & lisa
George Usher
  1. Releases
  2. Appearances
  3. Songwriting Credits
George Usher and Lisa Burns: george & lisa

george & lisa

George Usher and Lisa Burns


It’s here!…”george & lisa,” the brand new album from George Usher and Lisa Burns!

12 great new songs recorded in an intimate, acoustic setting, featuring just the two of them…“george & lisa”…

Includes live favorites, “Rise Rise Rise,” ”Wonder Drug,” “Dearborn Fairgrounds,” “It’s Always Now,” and others, like their recent show opener, “Vacant Prince.”

Their vocal harmonies have never been stronger and the intimate setting of acoustic guitars and piano is like having George and Lisa performing for you in your living room.

Available on CD direct from George (see “Buy Now” button, left) and from CD Baby

Also available digitally worldwide from:



  1. Wonder Drug
  2. Dearborn Fairgrounds
  3. Love Can Be A Lost Tomorrow
  4. Drifting In And Out Of Sleep
  5. I Know You’re There
  6. The Heart Is Always Listening
  7. Rise Rise Rise
  8. Anniversary Burlesque
  9. It’s Always Now
  10. The Magician’s Irony
  11. Vacant Prince
  12. There Aren’t Words


Vocals, guitar & keyboards by Lisa Burns and George Usher
All songs written by Lisa Burns and George Usher

Photos: Aleksander Karjaka, Laurie Webber
Design: Laurie Webber

George Usher and Lisa Burns

Here are some comments about George and Lisa’s first album together, “The Last Day Of Winter”:

Huffington Post: George Usher and Lisa Burns — who are indie pop royalty to my generation of New Yorkers…What Lou Reed was to underground alt-rock, George is to underground New York pop. Ms. Burns’ pedigree is equally impressive as a performer and recording artist…

No Depression: The folksy, autumnal, and ultimately celebratory song-cycle The Last Day of Winter is not quite the standard fare for Usher, who is among America’s greatest indie-pop tunesmiths and recording artists…Enter Lisa Burns, who flourishes when penning melodies and chords to a fully realized libretto.

Popmatters: The album’s opening track, “Wake Me When Tomorrow’s Here”, actually sounds like a long lost Byrds track, circa The Notorious Byrd Brothers, what with its gentle chime and soft harmonies.

Popdose: Pure shimmering pop from these two long-time fixtures in New York shines brightly on these twelve songs that deal with some very serious themes. Lyrically penned by George Usher at a time when he was battling cancer and unable to play any instruments, the music was skilfully composed by Lisa Burns and fits everything together perfectly. Their voices blend equally well and everything about this album is right.

Big Takeover:The Last Day of Winter exudes emotion through exquisite songcraft and memorable melodies. Ranging from Kinks-inspired pop to swaggering Stones-y country ballads and further into Rumours-era Fleetwood Mac territory, the twelve Usher/Burns joint compositions rest on a folk foundation of organic musicianship.